Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame inaugural class announced

amshof logo

The newly formed Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame announced its inaugural class of honour swimmers and contributors today. A committee of selectors including Gary Toner, Melissa Cunningham, Tamara Bruce, David O’Brien, and Chris Guesdon wrote:

Many in the open water swimming community came to the conclusion that Australia should have our own Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame. Australia has waited long enough

Since Annette Kellerman set the scene in the English Channel over a century ago Australia has produced many superb marathon swimmers and contributors who have had history- making careers encompassing events both in Australia and abroad.

Recognition of them by our sport in one place is essential for history and the preservation of achievements in our sport.

2020 AMSHOF Honourees

Guesdon provided the following breakdown of honourees:

Total: 37

By gender / group:

  • Total women 15
  • Total men 20
  • Organisation 1
  • Family Group 1

By honouree category:

  • Swimmers 24
  • Contributors 13
  • Administrators 6
  • Technical Official 1
  • Coaches 6

Other honors/distinctions:

  • IMSHOF 17
  • Contributors 8
  • World Champ. Medalists 11
  • Oceans Seven 1