MSF Core Group announced

marathon swimmers federation

MSF co-founder Evan Morrison announced the formation of the MSF Core Group, which will oversee standards and policy for MSF projects such as the LongSwims Database, MSF Documented Swims, and the Rules of Marathon Swimming.

Joining Morrison are several longtime contributors to MSF including:

  • David Barra – co-founder of New York Open Water and the 8 Bridges Hudson River Swim, and Honor Swimmer in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.
  • Caroline Block, PhD, JD. – “Queen of the North Channel” with an unprecedented four crossings.
  • Elaine Kornbau Howley – Triple Crown marathon swimmer, Boston Light swim race director, and Vice President of the Massachusetts Open Water swimming Association.
  • Andrew Malinak – Co-founder and president of the Northwest Open Water Swimming Association, and course record holder for the Strait of Juan de Fuca.
  • Anthony McCarley – Triple Crown marathon swimmer; founder and CEO of McCarley International, providing executive coaching and keynote speaking to global businesses and their leaders.
  • Emma Radford – Triple Crown marathon swimmer and course record holder for the Derwent River Big Swim.
  • Sarah Thomas – World-record holder for longest open water swim, first to swim four-way English Channel, Honor Swimmer in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame, and co-founder of the The Cliff Backyard Ultra Swim.

The Core Group is MSF’s first formalized oversight committee, and aims to advance MSF’s objectives to:

For more information see